Between the lines with Taylor Russell

“Rounding third and headed for home”

As we finish out our last week, I look back and realize that this summer has flown by.  As a whole, my last summer of college baseball has been a fun one to remember.  I’ve made a lot of new friends that I hope to keep in touch with and some that I’ll even be playing against in the spring.  It was a good experience to be a part of and I will thank my college coaches for sending me here and recommend this team to future players.

On behalf of all the Hustlers, I would especially like to thank all of the host families. I know it wasn’t easy opening your homes to someone you’ve never met before and- in many cases- multiple players you’ve never met before. Nevertheless, you have welcomed us into your homes, fed us, and given us a place to sleep at night and for that we are all very grateful.  You made this summer a possibility for a lot of the Hustlers and without you this team would not have been possible!

I would also like to thank all of our coaches for this summer.  Thank you for encouraging us and working with us to improve our game.  We appreciate all the times you came early to get us extra swings in the cage and work with us individually.  I know from last summer that you all truly care about us and will follow up with us throughout the school year and see how we’re doing.

It’s about time for each of us to head back to our separate schools and prepare for another season. As I said before, I look forward to playing against some of the friends I’ve made this summer and following the others over the internet.  I wish everyone the best of luck after the summer.

About Lexington Hustlers

Great Lakes Summer Collegiate League (GLSCL) team est. 2010. Named after the original Lexington Hustlers of the 1940s and 1950s. Roster is comprised of some of the top players in college baseball; many from the central Kentucky area, and most of our staff comes from our internship program, which is largely responsible for performing organizational duties throughout the summer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.